No other plans (17)

(re upload) 

Hello there, long time no see. 

I promise you I can explain this very long absence, and I will the only way I know how, dope blog post. 

So the story begins like this, my fiance and I had been planning to move from California to Michigan after our wedding which had been planned for the 3rd of March. I can tell you that from the time I had even befriended my fiance things had really never worked out as planned, even our relationship was a happy accident born of broken plans. 

At the end of January we had received  word that his mother was critically ill and that he needed to go to Michigan.I remember thinking to myself what would be the quickest way to call out of work and how quickly could I join him in leaving back to Michigan. 

Our time in Michigan spanded over a month long, and was filled by far with the most amazing people I’ve met in a long time. The hospital waiting room was always filled with people coming to show love for his mother and family, and kind people always willing to bring meals or just the company of a friendly face. 

Up until this time, I had only spent about a week with my mother-in-law to be, but I could already tell by the out pour of love how many people’s hearts she had touched. I’m no doctor, but I think all the love and support is what helped her get out of the hospital sooner than expected. 

I still didn’t get to spend a lot of personal time with my mother-in-law to be, but I must brag on her for a second. I watched her fight from critical condition to discharge without rehab. Guys, she’s one strong woman and the amount of strength and courage shown by her during that time was not only inspiring, but life altering. 

Also, my new almost sister is a hockey playing, 1st chair percussionist champion. Just saying. 

I didn’t like the circumstances that brought us to Michigan, but the time spent with family I will always cherish. 

Towards the end of our time, after moms discharge, we were able to take a trip to a little town by the name of Frankenmuth. 

That was the first date we had been on in maybe 3 months. I don’t  know if anyone knows how to create normalcy during or after a crisis, it just has to happen. It’s about understanding that everything and everyone is precious. I know it sounds corny, but it’s true. We sat in that tiny town and remembered all things and people we were thankful for. 

The last night was spent eating ice cream and sugar free pudding around the TV. I thought about the band concerts, hockey games, and the crazy amount of love. I love Michigan and the people that make it feel like home. 

All my life I’ve been told that if you plan and make good choices your life should remain relatively undisturbed. I don’t agree. This Friday I would have married my bestfriend and we would have began the adventure called life with unrealistic expections. Crisis can happen to the best of people and be completely random, but the same goes for fortune and happy things as well. Life should be lived with the expectation of adventure and struggle, each one able to interchange at moments notice.

Moms doing better and getting stronger each and everyday, of course all while still looking beautiful. 

I’m excited to call these wonderful human beings my family and even more excited to be able to personally tell you about the strength and love shown by this amazing unit of people. 

So to Dad, Mom, Leah, Oma, Aunt Christina, Aunt Melissa, Grandma, and Grandpa; Thank you. 

Leave a Reply

